Skip to content

April 9, 2012

Going on cooked food Hiatus

by Brian Kudler

After moving back to New York 2 years ago I am finally in our new place and everything is unpacked. After having MOST of my kitchen tools, cookware, utensils, juicer and dehydrator in storage, they are out of their boxes in draws or cabinets ready for use.

So for those of you who know me well, have been hearing me complain that I have been having neck, lower and middle back issues, couple that with the new chemotherapy and feeling STUCK, I believe it is time to do some cleansing. So after many weeks of preparation I am ready to start doing raw foods and juices.

It actually is the perfect time since Spring is all about rejuvenation and cleaning out the sluggishness from winter.

So what is on the menu?

We have

Dehydrated Stuffing Mushrooms caps with avocados

Carrot, Kale, Celery and Meyer Lemon Juice- This is GREAT for the central nervous system, but the greens and lemon are excellent for the liver!

Pressure Collards with Nutritional Yeast, Truffle Oil, and Shoyu- I still remember thinking how odd the concept of a pressed salad was so many years ago; However, its the fattest way to get liquid out of your vegetables and the easiest way to add freshness to any meal.

Zucchini Pasta with Meyer Lemons- I have to thank an old friend Vera for introducing me into a gadget that takes summer squash and turns it into pasta!!! I’m rather fickle, even though I grew up in NY and should love pasta and pizza, I may eat them once a year. Bu zucchini pasta is another story. It’s so fast and versatile, especially when you want something to eat in under 5 minutes. No joke run the squash through the gadget throw some lemon, oil, and salt or ume vinegar with flax oil and your meal is served. Not only is it fast, and fresh but since summer squash is loaded with water its very rehydrating. Just remember Organic is the safest! Oh and yes I squeezed a Meyer lemon on the zucchini and i thought to myself WOW, that taste is incredible!!

* A little side note: I am a huge fan of Meyer Lemons, typically I do not have many opportunities to purchase them, but this week I decided to order from Fresh Direct( Incredible Produce) and they have Meyers on sale 2 bags for 6 dollars, so what did I do, Of Course I bought 2 bags. Before you ask YES I am using them on everything!!!

Well it’s 12:30 and I need to soak my neck and back in some epsom salt before bed.

Hope Everyone has a Blessed Week and can take a moment to appreciate the change in the Seasons!

I know I will

Njoy

Peace Out!!!!

Brian

Oh before you go I forgot I also made non dairy gelato

I started making my own nut milk, Friday it was Cashew/ Macadamia

so I took 8 ounces of that with 8 ounces of coconut milk, 3 tablespoons arrowroot, 1/4 cup cacao powder, 1/4 coconut powder, 3 tablespoons coconut cream, 2 tablespoons agave nectar, and 1/4 cup of maple syrup, and finally 1/4 cup peanut butter and 3 pinches vanilla sea salt. Put the flame on low and brought all ingredients to barely warm, just warm enough the cacao would merge with the liquid and the coconut cream would melt. I let the mixture cool in the freezer for 40 minutes, then put in gelato maker for another 40 minutes. Crazy Good Dessert!!!

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

